The Advocacy Committee is responsible for monitoring local, state, and federal policy initiatives that impact the cleantech sector. The Committee reviews these initiatives, discusses the impact on the region’s cleantech sector, and recommends policy positions to the Cleantech San Diego Executive Committee. In addition, the Committee, as part of the Cleantech San Diego Leadership Series, organizes events to introduce and educate policy makers on the region’s cleantech sector and our member companies. The Committee collaborates with other organizations on issues of mutual interest when necessary.

Advocacy Committee Members


  • Jamie Link, EDF Renewables


  • Scott Anders, University of San Diego – EPIC
  • Lee Barken, Collective Sun
  • Julia Brown, Forestview Advisors
  • Mike Firenze, CleanSpark
  • Parissa Ebrahimzadeh Florez, Stoel Rives
  • Mark Hooley, H.G. Fenton
  • Tara Kelly, Sullivan Solar Power
  • Phil Kopp, Conectric
  • Douglas Kot, DNV GL
  • John Lormon, Procopio
  • Harley McDonald, Iberdrola Renewables
  • Gerard Nolan, EDF Renewables
  • Jared Quient, BayWa
  • Brenden Reed, San Diego County Regional Airport Authority
  • Jeff Schwartz, Bank of America Merrill Lynch
  • Christopher Stathos, Navy Region Southwest
  • Drake Welch, Calpine Energy Solutions
  • Meena Westford, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California

Capital and Resources

The Capital and Resources Committee is responsible for supporting local early-stage cleantech companies. The Committee provides support to companies looking to increase their chances of commercialization success through networking, investor outreach, exposure to market trends, business guidance, and professional services. Members of the Committee obtain direct awareness and regular exposure to the region’s newest emerging companies while fostering strategic partnerships.

Capital and Resources Committee Members


  • Steve Rowles, Morrison & Foerster
  • Jeff Schwartz, Bank of America Merrill Lynch


  • Lee Barken, Collective Sun
  • Julia Brown, Forestview Advisors
  • Jacques Chirazi, City of San Diego
  • James Dickey, Chubb Insurance
  • Mike Elconin, Tech Coast Angels
  • Peter Fisher, Lightsource Renewables
  • James Hoang, Chubb Insurance
  • Steve Hoey, CONNECT
  • Josh Lampl, EcoElectron Ventures
  • Hugh Leslie, Marsh & McLennan
  • Morten Lund, Stoel Rives
  • Tina Ngo, San Diego Workforce Partnership
  • Jeff Reed, Sempra Utilities
  • Douglas Regnier, Ernst & Young
  • Aaron Sokoloff, Procopio
  • Al Sweedler, San Diego State University
  • Kate Zeng, Sempra Energy

Education and Outreach

The Education and Outreach Committee evaluates and creates opportunities to preserve and advance Cleantech San Diego’s brand. Projects led by the Committee are designed to help maximize Cleantech San Diego’s value to the region and beyond while promoting our dynamic membership. Members of the Committee help identify and source opportunities to showcase key initiatives, programs, and news about the organization and our members.

Education and Outreach Committee Members


  • Meena Westford, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California


  • Lee Barken, Collective Sun
  • Nancy Bell, Promar Designs
  • Ashley Bright, Promar Designs
  • Kelia Cowan, Measurabl
  • Blair Forde, Latham & Watkins
  • Emma Higgins, GRID Alternatives
  • Sarah Lubeck, San Diego Regional EDC
  • Laura Manz, LJ Manz Consulting
  • Tina-Marie Neesen, Baker Electric Solar